A REAL Valentine's Day

Posted on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 10:09

Kids Having Kids

Posted on Thu, 04/17/2014 - 10:28

If You Can Read This...

Posted on Mon, 04/14/2014 - 12:53

When I Hurt

Posted on Mon, 03/24/2014 - 09:56
As a psychologist, I am often asked how to help little ones understand and deal with loss. How do you help your child, adolescent, teen, and even yourself deal with the loss of a loved one?

What a Wonderful World

Posted on Mon, 03/17/2014 - 11:14

Rebuilding the Bullied, Part 1

Posted on Mon, 07/28/2014 - 15:43
As a parent, one of my great fears is of someone being mean to one of my kids and me not knowing about it. I grew up in a very different time and place. I grew up in the late 70s and 80s West Texas. Then and there if you didn’t get along with someone or you had a disagreement you tended to slug it out, get over it, and then be friends.

One Great Nation

Posted on Mon, 06/30/2014 - 10:12
This is one of my favorite times of the year.

Getting in Shape for School

Posted on Fri, 07/11/2014 - 10:30
Summer is second only to Christmas for kids. Long days coupled with no homework make for a recipe for fun. Whether swimming in a river or a swimming pool or running through a sprinkler or a fire hydrant being depressurized, summer is magical.

Why Pre-K?

Posted on Mon, 07/07/2014 - 12:50
There is a lot of discussion on the news and online, in schools and homes across the country about whether or not having a robust and even mandatory pre-k program in our schools is necessary. There are all kinds of statistics pointing to the advantages of pre-k.

Our Greatest Treasure

Posted on Thu, 06/19/2014 - 11:02
Is there anything better than summer vacation? No hard bedtime for the kids and great movies at the theater and, best of all, tons of family time. This past week, my family along with my in-laws spent the week at a great condo on South Padre Island.