A Beautiful Hope

Posted on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 08:59

Consequences: One Size Does NOT Fit All

Posted on Thu, 03/13/2014 - 12:06
Mr. Jerrod’s 3rd grade class is a handful. He has his obviously bright students, his struggling students, and most all of his kids are somewhere in between. The struggles in reading and writing and math are ones he can handle. In fact, these are the struggles he became a teacher to tackle.

Changing Behaviors: Reinforcements | Part 1

Posted on Thu, 02/27/2014 - 10:05
Part 4 of 7 in the ABCs of Behavior

Refocusing on Humanity

Posted on Mon, 03/03/2014 - 10:14

A Day in the Life of a Teacher

Posted on Mon, 02/24/2014 - 09:04
Morning comes way too early. I just closed my eyes and now it is time to start all over again. The morning shower is about the only time I am going to have today with a little silence. I have found myself standing under the water a little longer each day as the school year is passing.

Kids Having Kids

Posted on Thu, 04/17/2014 - 10:28

If You Can Read This...

Posted on Mon, 04/14/2014 - 12:53

Teaching Social Skills | The Pedagogical Quandary

Posted on Thu, 04/03/2014 - 11:16
How do you teach social skills to a group of students lacking the basic social skills to sit, listen, participate, and learn? How do you get a kid to listen to you, a well-educated person that may or may not be of the same gender/race/socio-economic status as them?

Face to Face: Anger

Posted on Fri, 05/30/2014 - 09:52
Anger is one of the most readily identifiable and easy to discern emotions we deal with each day. From being cut off in traffic to something going wrong at work to breaking your favorite glass – anger happens. We have read so much pop-psychology regarding anger that we have almost made it a bad word. It is as if people who are truly centered and enlightened will no longer get angry. This is not only wrong, it’s goofy.

Today, Let's Laugh

Posted on Mon, 03/31/2014 - 10:07